P4040020 (1500x1277).jpg

About Us

Susy (nee Gaisford)

I grew up on a dairy farm in Wiltshire with my older brother, some ponies and a pack of dogs!  I studied Food Science at the School of  Agriculture, University of Nottingham and then did a PhD at the University College of Wales Aberystwyth, where I met Paul.  After my student career I worked for a seaweed processing company with sites in Scotland and San Diego, a food research organisation, then one of the worlds largest contract caterers and the accountants Deloitte and Touche - by which time I had become a technical analyst in the IT department and not a food scientist at all. My main interests in life are our daughter Lucy, Molly the dog,  the garden, cycling and sailing.  I also like to read books, take long walks by the sea, try to figure out Dorset geology and going to the theatre.

Paul Wilson

I was born in South Africa and brought up in Nottinghamshire, the home of Robin Hood.  I grew up with my older brother and 2 sisters and from an early age became interested in natural history, the outdoor life and sailing. I studied Agricultural Botany at the University College of Wales Aberystwyth and completed my PhD in Plant Pathology in 1986.  Susy and I met while at University and we were married in 1991. After leaving Aberystwyth I worked for Dalgety, one of the largest UK agricultural companies, followed by Agriland, one of the smallest. In 1992 I joined the American agricultural company Pioneer Hi-Bred, the largest plant breeding business in the world, as the UK Wheat Breeding manager. My interests are many and varied and include, gardening, photography, history, natural history, sailing and cycling when I have the time.

We have a lovely 15 year old daughter called Lucy.